Winter Nights II

I was recently in Minnesota for the holidays and took a roundabout route between Rochester and the Twin Cities to add to the collection of prairie nightscapes I started last winter. Working on this project has been a deeply refreshing means through which I have been able to partially reforge my belonging to this wide and empty landscape. The solitude and silence and crunching snow is impossibly peaceful.

Image

Eyota, Minnesota

Image

Eyota, Minnesota

Image

Bombay, Minnesota

Image

Bombay, Minnesota

Image

Randolph, Minnesota

Image

Eyota, Minnesota

Tags: , , , , ,

About ktrenerry

I am inspired by human-powered, intentional travel and borderlands of all types: international, neighborhood boundaries, and especially the heavily disputed. My work often seeks to combine these two themes, resulting in projects that have taken me more than 1,000 miles down the Iron Curtain Trail by bike, and around and through some of today’s most notorious walls in Israel/Palestine, Cyprus, and Northern Ireland on foot. The latter journey was undertaken as part of my current independent project, Walking Walls. I am creating a book as the culmination of the project, forthcoming 2014.   I am currently living in Boston.

One response to “Winter Nights II”

  1. j21d26 says :

    Very nice pictures! You should have one of today, to show the not so peaceful side of MN winter! We’re having light snow, but heavy winds. A blizzard, almost. Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

